Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Foggy Marsh

I was reading a photography blog around 5 a.m today and the author listed his top 10 favorite places to photograph birds and wildlife. One of the top ten was a place called Huntley Meadows in Northern Virginia. I Googled it and found that it is only 10 miles from my house.

I arrived at the park around 6:45 a.m. and was greeted by tons of fog. Gear in tow, I hiked through the woods to the first section of the park. This was the view about 6:55 a.m.

I did see some green herons, turtles, and even saw two beavers playing in the water. But other than that, there were very few critters around. I spoke to a fellow photographer in the park and she said that due to the lack of rain, a lot of the birds have migrated elsewhere.

The park offers marshes (with a nice boardwalk), wooded trails, a pond, and overlooks. I'll be going back here again in the future and hope that I'll be able to get some good shots of some wildlife...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.