Smeogol's Brother @KoestlerTrust

Into town for some culture today. 

I started at the Koestler Trust exhibition "Inside" at the Southbank Centre. It is art by people in a secure setting and this year it is curated by Anthony Gormley. If you are in the area it is well worth a visit - some wonderful work which shows many aspects of life in a custodial setting.

Then upstairs where I was lucky enough to see the World Press Photo exhibition. It only opened today and is there until the 20th. Some of the images are graphic; this is photo journalism after all, but there are some simply stunning images.

My "culture bucket" still had some space so I strolled up to the National Gallery for my fix of paintings. The National have a cool app which allows users to scan a painting - the app recognises the art work and calls up a page with further information about it; in some cases more than is shown on the card next to the painting. Whenever I visit there are some paintings that I simply must see; the Virgin of the Rocks, The Fighting Temeraire, and others. Then I simply get lost and rely on serendipity to find me something new. Today I got caught up and entranced in the Sainsbury Wing with Pisanello and Crivelli and Rogier van der Weyden. I also enjoyed watching folk jostling to take a selfie with van Gogh's Sunflowers.

Then a walk back to Victoria through St James's park. A smashing day and I've nearly got my 10k steps

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.