A Winter Blanket

It's been an interesting day.. After deciding to sleep in the truck even though I didn't have to, I got a solid 7 hours of quality sleep. Started work and they changed the load on me.. That happens but when I pulled the trailer out of the door things didn't look right.. So I went through the check list.. There are things that are policy, things the law says and things you just learn over time on the job.. With my boss on vacation, a rookie on call and knowing my backside was covered (that most important) I rolled south with it.. Sure enough the night crew messed up and two of us drivers had each others load.. Mine south, his north.. and both of us did everything by the book.. The night crew will get a good talking too.. A side bonus though is both of us drivers got off early.. It's really nice to have a slow friday evening going into the weekend..

Coming home the snow was very thick in the states capitol, changed to rain and then sun at work.. By the time I got home it was a solid thick snow again.. A bit early for it but it has happened before. They say Saturday night we are supposed to get more too.. I haven't had a chance to get chains for my new car yet.. I might have to take a walk somewhere to pick up a pair..

4 juncos were on the bird bath discussing the backyard situation.. Both feeders were empty.. The sparrows, chickadees, and finches were dancing around on the ground seeing what they can find, while two juncos were pulling the seeds out of a pine cone for something to eat.. Since the refill. The nuthatches, scrub jays, steller jays and the flickers have returned.. I guess the word gets around quickly around here..

This is one of the last dahlias.. We are supposed to get a hard freeze the next few days..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.