A case for the witch doctor?

When I walked round the castle today I spotted this crumpled and torn witches hat on the ground. I wondered if it belonged to the Worst Witch from the Jill Murphy stories. I had a look around in case she had fallen from her broomstick and landed in the moat but there was no sign. Perhaps she cast a rescue spell!

Tonight I went to a "folk night" of people's party pieces where I'd been asked to play my concertina. I struck up a couple of dance tunes but two ladies armed with drum and loud tambourine decided to join in. The problem was not just the very loud volume but the fact that they weren't in time and went faster and faster and as I was playing solo couldn't compete. It was the most challenging performance that I've ever done!

I had a spot in the second half and played a couple of slow Welsh tunes which were unsuitable for drumming so they were quiet (thank goodness).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.