Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

300

Not the image I'd planned or imagined but here is blip no. 300!

I put this up and have realised that I'm never going to finish a write up tonight... so see you after some well earned sleep! Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

First day of the shooting season, lots of old faces, some new and Lady D very much missed and talked about. :) Everyone wishes you the best on your course and hope you'll be able to make a couple of dates!

My dogs managed to behave very badly! Maera commited the ultimate sin for a gun dog, running out past the line of guns to retrieve. I know it's the first day and they are excited but I'm going to have to work hard to get the mutts back in line.

The promised rain failed to fall, other than for a few minutes of new season baptism, and it was mild. A perfect day.

This was taken whilst I waited for a drive to start. I'd stuffed my old Lumix point and shoot in my pocket as the full Monty isn't really a good idea to carry around with wet and muddy dogs climbing all over us all day!

I know shooting is a controversial subject. It is, however, an integral part and important provider of income to the countryside. It is also extremely beneficial for our wildlife. I personally don't hold a gun as I'd probably miss a stationary target at a couple of metres, but I beat and work my dogs.

I'm afraid that having been up since 4.30am and having a few miles of walking, including trudging through all that clay you can see in the photo, I was up to nothing more other than bed last night.

Not the best 300 celebration image, but it was a wonderful day and I've had such wonderful comments. Thank you all ... Never were there a better bunch of people than on Blipfoto!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.