Snow Down Under

By snowy

THE DRIVEWAY:

Hi dee ho, the rain came as well as snow. Measured 3mm at 9am & it has been raining off & on & there looks to be another 10mm. It is great for gardens & Central Otago, so I hope it continues all night. Strange day, the rain is interspersed with sunshine, now & then. On the debit side the snow is half way down Mt. Roy & that spells FROST ! Must cover my tomatoes & dahlias.
Left of the driveway you can see where the road forks to go to my house; or drive straight on up to the cottage. If you look hard, top middle, you will see my white flag pole which is at the garden entrance. I flew the flag when we won the Rugby World Cup, the America’s Cup & when the Queen was 90. The driveway is lined both sides with rhododendrons & maple trees. The rhodos are predominantly Lemon Lodge (bottom right) which is N. Z. bred & a truly great performing variety. I love it cos it’s so reliable. You can see it is nearly finished with most of the petals on the ground. The pink one middle right, is Trude Webster, a sensational Rhodo with flowers bigger than dinner plates. The Iris is Kerneriana which I grew from seed, distributed by the NZ Alpine Society, of which I use to belong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.