Rhodo Weekend

The Rhodo Weekend is always an action packed two days in Blackheath and this year the Rhododendrons have been quite spectacular. There's no way in the world we could contemplate growing them at Wombat Hollow. Apart from the wallabies being a factor, the soil here is not suited for exotics in any way shape or form. I had to drive into town briefly this morning and was happy I had taken my camera with macro lens with me. I had a lovely time on the way home taking images of flowers with raindrops on them. The glorious pink Rhodo won the day as my main image and this time the Waratah came in in second place (see extra). Actually the image in extra has caught my eye every time I've driven into Blackheath over the past couple of weeks. I'm absolutely amazed that no one has picked it and it was certainly looking good in the mist this morning.

We've had a very restful day today and I had a wonderful time this afternoon watching the final of the women's golf tournament in Japan, the Toto Classic. It was a nail biting finish on the final day and one of my favourite golfers, Shanshan Feng from China ended up winning by a whisker. I really like Shanshan's attitude, she's tenacious but humble at the same time and has a great approach to the game.

Apart from the $225,000 that Shanshan won in prizemoney, she also one a Mercedes Motor Car AND can you believe it, a years supply of yoghurt, rice and eggs. CRIKEY, when I was playing squash professionally the most I ever won was 500 English Pounds and that was for a major. Oh, well, it was a long, long, long time ago :))). What I wouldn't give to have my time over again. I think I would have loved going on the golf circuit.

There's nothing quite like practising your golf from the safety of an armchair. All I have to do on Thursday is visualise everything I learnt this afternoon and I'll be just fine :). I'm sure Ninniex and Doyley agree with me!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.