Cygnus

By Cygnus

And relax....

I've had a really lovely weekend, beginning with drinks and dinner at mrshb70's home. K is an excellent cook and is currently in Persiana mode. Gorgeous carrot/cumin/dill/goats cheese starter and chicken with preserved lemons with a Persian rice dish afterwards - delish! I tried the carrots with the Ards Man last night, but he thought the cumin seeds a step too far for him. I was surprised at this as he really likes Indian food and I use a lot of (admittedly ground) cumin in those dishes. I think I'll try the carrots again without the cumin, though, as the other flavours would give a nice twist to Christmas carrots!

On Saturday I did lots of household stuff and then some food shopping down in our local town. I like to support small, local shops even though the food is usually a wee bit dearer than the supermarket; not always, mind you. Mrshb70 had some really fab dishes and bowls from a local pottery, so after discovering they had a sale on, I tootled across hill and vale and narrow country roads and success! a lovely serving dish for me and a wee Christmas present purchased too!

This morning I was on the welcome team at church, so now I'm home to an afternoon of relaxation and reading. With the fire lit. Bliss.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.