*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

And shrill on leafless bough

The robin with its burning breast
Alone sings now.

~Walter de la Mare~

I can't think of many poets who have had more of an impact on me than Walter de la Mare. I've loved him since childhood and could first read. He seems out of fashion these days, sadly... but if so, I'm happy to be old-fashioned!

I also love robins but would be hard pressed to name any wild birds I dislike to be honest. At a push it would have to be magpies and jackdaws because they just seem to annoy other birds and animals which in turn annoys me. Robins seem naturally curious of humans, as though they're trying to figure us out (good luck with that one! Robins, if you *do* figure it out, please let me know!)

This one kept following me, landing on a branch and singing. It was in the shade and the picture was poor so I did a bit of jiggery pokery with it. I go from loving the processing to hating it! S/he was a beaut though, despite my processing :-)

Hope everyone's pets are doing ok this weekend... and all those wild animals who don't have anyone to comfort them. The older I get, the more I hate Guy Fawkes night. Sorry to sound such a grouch, I'm really not... must be nice not to overthink and feel things so deeply x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.