Seelye

By Seelye

Native American's from the Lakota Tribe

I attended a luncheon today for St. Joseph's Indian School here in Phoenix.  The school is in Chamberlain, South Dakota and thrives totally on donations.  They do wonderful things for these kids educationally while also working to preserve their heritage.  I would love to visit some September when the reservation does the big Pow Wow which is so spiritual for the Native Americans. 

I sat next to the young lady in the photo wearing glasses.  She started there as a 1st grader and will graduate this spring from the 8th grade.  The two biggest reactions I got from her were about attending high school and showing her my Halloween photo.  Both girls were shy, but well spoken and sweet.  I did not know that all Native American languages were banned from being spoken for about 60 years.  It was the civil rights movement in this country that changed that.  So as a result language is having to be studied and slowly is making a comeback.

I'm so glad I went.  One woman there has been supporting them for over 50 years. Of all the guests, I was one of the youngest. 

See extra for Hopi earrings I wore today of my mother's.  I cherish them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.