11.30 til late

In the sixties, when anyone could, I lived in Balmain.

The place was chocka with working class pubs, some early openers, for the workers on night shift, and many of them very rough. It was a time when to complete a pub crawl in Balmain was a great achievement.

I went for a walk round there today and was stopped by this chap who was asking about my Leica. After I'd explained that it was a faux Leica I thought I'd take advantage of the situation and ask for a photo. Of course he was up for it, so I should have taken more trouble. Or even more than one shot:)

Anyway, he was sitting outside a pub which used to be 'The Cricketers' Arms' but is now trendified out of existence, with lots of black glass and colourful lighting.
I was reminded that I was once having a meal at a restaurant opposite when someone was shot here.
Dead.
Wouldn't happen today:)

Gotta love the walking stick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.