Jado

By Jado

Etherow Country Park

When I was working full-time I always used to do my weekly shop on a Sunday morning - after I'd been for a walk, usually in the Marple area.  The number of times the walk turned out to be a bit muddy, and I left muddy footprints around the supermarket ...

So today, with my knee feeling better than it has done for a while, I went to Marple on my way to Tesco in Stockport - now that is rather a detour, but there is a nice, non-strenuous walk from Brabyns Park at Marple Bridge to Etherow Country Park - and it was a nice morning.

Etherow Country Park was one of England's first country parks, so there's a bit of history for you.  The blip is a badling* of ducks getting a bit panicky about an approaching dog (which was on lead, well-behaved and totally disinterested in the ducks).

And yes, I did leave a trail of muddy footprints around Tesco!

* I had to look up the collective noun for a 'flock' of ducks.  Apparently there are several, depending on whether the ducks are on water or on dry land - badling or badelynge, plump, paddling or raft (the latter 2 being if they are on water).  You learn something new everyday, even if it is something you are going to instantly forget :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.