BrianH

By BrianH

Into the tunnel

Last weekend I went to Basingstoke primarily to to buy a few things, but had to abort that as I had left my wallet at home.

I returned this morning and had planned to take photos in the sunshine of the high rise glass fronted office blocks which led to Basingstoke being called the Dallas of Hampshire! There comes a point as you drive down the M3 when, from over the brow of a hill, these office blocks appear in the distance rising above the treeline. It has also been said that one of these was the tallest building between London & New York. Many years ago I worked in the second tallest block and I could see neither London nor New York from the top floor. That block has now been converted to residential use and when a top floor was added it, apparently, became the tallest.

After taking various "reflections" I noticed this pedestrian tunnel with bright sunlight at the far end. I took several more photos of people coming and going, trying different exposure levels. In general I liked the ones where the figures were in silhouette and in this one the man's checked shirt just added a little bit of contrasting detail.

Shopping and blipping done, I am planning a lazy afternoon - listening to Edna O'Brien read extracts from her autobiography "Country Girl" which was was this week's "Book of the Week" on Radio 4.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.