Oh, there's a story attached to this one....

For a while now I've said a lot of what I photograph is sketching for things I can make into prints. Occasionally I actually produce something, but mostly the photograph goes unused.

And.

Cigs is one of the other blip journals; and at some of the sites of his work, I have found discarded cartons which hold 6 packs of spray paint. They are almost certainly his as there were no other tags in close proximity so I assume he is a user of 94 paints. 

I've gathered 3 or 4 of these cartons on my travels and I've long been a sucker for a stencilled motif; I blame punk art from my formative years. DIY art (see also DIY photography, DIY cooking, DIY music, DIY whatever)

So I had three colours of spray paint in the house and after tiny bit of tinkering it struck me what I should do; and this was the result of a slightly tipsy mucking about one evening / a slightly more crystalised morning. 

I hung it in the hall today. And once I find some more canvases, there will be more. Based loosely on the Flags of Inconvenince conversation with my mate Donny in Helsinki about 4 years ago. 

So in a roundabout way Cigs makes it onto Billboard. Boundary blurring alert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.