Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Backblip


A very full day of lovely London distractions.  Started in the morning at the Postal Museum on the Mail Rail, a unique experience.  Lunch in Clerkenwell at a nice little bistro in Exmouth Market, the two men having lunch at the neighboring table, one of them from Belmont, sat talking loudly about Silicon Valley and VC - a bit surreal and just like being at home.  Walked from there through Smithfield toward St. Paul's to a new build right opposite the cathedral that has a wonderful roof deck* overlooking the London skyline.  Over the river via Millennium Bridge to the Tate Modern so I could go to the viewing deck there.  Looked at some art, too, and had a much needed slice of cake.  Walked back over the river via Blackfriars Bridge to Two Temple Place to a book fair.  While I waited for my companion to hang up her coat I noticed a distinctive looking person standing opposite me, I was so spaced out I didn't recognize who it was, McKenzie Crook, until I heard him speaking.  After we were done with the book fair we walked over the river again via Waterloo Bridge to the South Bank.  While we stood discussing what we wanted to do for supper I saw what looked like a movie premier at the BFI, curious, we went for a closer look and it was a documentary of Grace Jones.  I think she is rather fabulous so we stood and watched her come out for photographs, she was mostly completely covered up, sadly, because her mother had passed last week and she was grieving.  Finally, dinner.  



* main picture, of course the reader caught my eye

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.