Bringing up the Rear

Basil and I were at Bradgate Park at 7.30 this morning. It wasn't a spectacular sunrise inasmuch as there were no clouds. Neither was there mist. But the sunshine was wonderful, emphasising the golden leaves of the old oaks.

I toyed with the idea of walking up the hill for a view of deer, following a couple bearing very long lenses and a stout tripod, but my stick wasn't in the car, so we stuck to the tarmac. To be greeted by a small troupe of fallow deer grazing halfway up the slope.

Further on, as we approached the ruins of Bradgate House, I espied a group of red deer quite high up on the northern slopes. I didn't think much about it, until, at the edge of the River Lin, I turned round to see a magnificent stag. He had brought his harem to the river in order to cross into the Sanctuary, as the rangers call it, where they put out food every morning. Canny deer.

We stood and watched as all the does and fawns forded the river with the stag bringing up the rear. He wasn't too worried about the odd threesome he had left behind him.

Extra is of some of his ladies.

A useful meeting with the dietitian later in the morning followed by a visit to see Sue and Kal. She is still waiting for her kitchen to be finished. She assured me that there had been progress. A very welcome chat and cuppa.

Choir tonight. Before that, I need a nap. It's all very well getting up for the dawn but it does tire me out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.