Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Mr Blue Sky

Took Aged P around Greenwich today. This ship in a bottle is on a plinth outside the Maritime Museum - must be about 15 feet long. I think it's beautiful, love the sails. Looked wonderful against the blue sky and scudding clouds.

Woke up at 6am this morning with tinitus and couldn't sleep so went downstairs, made tea and started sorting out cupboards. Got rid of a whole bag of out of date medicines. Kittens went bonkers playing with the empty packets that I put aside for recycling. Place soon descended into chaos. Tea and yoga restored some calm, then TSM and I sat chatting and catching up with each other after a week when we mostly came home from work tired and fell asleep on each other. Had lovely breakfast of asparagus and poached eggs on toast with some flat leaf parsley. Lovely and fresh and tasty.

Top Gun descended with a deadpan expression to tell us the outcome of a recent job interview. "They just rang" he said morosely. My heart sank then he broke into a big grin. "I got the job" he yelled so we danced around the dining room and hugged. Excellent.

Aged P loved her trip to Greenwich, the park was lovely in the sunshine. They haven't taken down the equestrian stands from the Olympics yet and we walked right past them; they really are huge and impressive. Must have been amazing to see those events with the Royal Naval College in the background.

Had lunch in a pub surrounded by Wren architecture in all directions; fantastic. Very buzzy and happy atmosphere.

Classic moment as we looked West up the Thames, me pointing out The Shard in the distance.

Me: I love it here.
Aged P: I don't like the river
Me: Why not?
Aged P: Too much water

Turns out her brother, my Uncle, used to tease her and threaten to throw her in when they were children. Memories run deep. that would have been 75 - 80 years ago.

Had a little walk back through the park. The restored Cutty Sark looks magnificent although I am not sure I like the glass skirt. But you can't complain, they bought the smouldering wreck back from the dead after that terrible fire.

Hacked it home 'round the M25 so that I could get to the barbers in time. I go to a guy locally who is an Italian South Londoner. "I 'ad your son in 'ere this morning" he said, with a rasping Milanese-cum-Peckham barrow boy style shout. I'd forgotten that The Dizzle was also getting his barnet seen to. I emerged half an hour later looking more or less the way I wanted to - not always a guaranteed outcome with this particular establishment - only to get home and find that The Girl Racer had made a flying visit from Uni and had bought a present of home made cupcakes. They were awesome. Truly. Nice to have Miss Slobbie back on the settee with the kittens. The family was complete for a couple of hours ...

Really a lovely Saturday. My footie team even won 2-0 away from home. Off out for dinner with old friends tonight. Should be a great end to a great day. Thanks Mr Blue Sky...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.