Creative Juices

God knows what the people beside me at the bar-counter where I took this shot waiting for Dd thought I was up to but somehow I had enough creative juices left in my nearly exhausted batteries to see it and take it.

I did another session to a full class of very seniors execs attending an advanced management program in IESE Business School, Barcelona in which I tried to subtly role model story telling and vulnerability which are key ingredients to the success of the project.

The story recounted my very happy moment when I was admitted to IESE standing in an Edinburgh phone box on the Royal Mile outside the Court of Session in 1991 by Lourdes Bosch - she was kind enough to come to my session today and repeat those magic words 'Mr. Bb - you are admitted!' from the back of the room, surprising the class. Also, I talked about the great C7 work-group I was a member of and my need to swallow my pride and ask for help in the middle of the night about a finance case I was meant to present. I also referred to one of the group as a 'confident German aeronautical engineer' who was also my blood-brother in the C7 journey and that was the cue for (now Prof.) Marc Sachon - who has featured here - to walk down from the back of the classroom and say a few words in support of the 'Executive Circle’ journey the class were embarking on - highlighting the essential ingredient of honesty which he and I, he said, still share after 25 years - and encouraging them to take full advantage.

So, another big event done and dusted....I was doing the presentation that accompanied it at 10pm last night and wrote out my story 'idiot cards' this morning to help me remember the key lines...of course, one never has to use them in the actual moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.