Orla

Highlight of the day, a precious few hours at Coldomo this morning. 

Gave Brie a massage, she's not much of a people pony (unless you have food!) and I want to try and teach her that it can be quite rewarding interacting with humans. Concentrating first on her hind where she is always tense, it was really rewarding to see her lowering her head and yawning repeatedly, a sign of relaxation and submission. Then worked on her neck which every horse loves. Finally her head, which she wasn't really interested in, she stood but her ears were back and she wasn't relaxed. I think, being a strong pony, most of her life she's been used to humans only bring interested in her head end for attaching all sorts of controlling devices to restrict her. I persevered and after a while she began to relax a bit, even lowering her head for me.

Before leaving, I couldn't resist a quick cuddle and scratch alongside Orla who had found a nice straw bed in the sun shine. She yawned and grunted gently throughout then thanked me by nipping my foot as I got up to leave. 

A short shift before returning home to get some dinner on the go for Gorgeous

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.