Hirundography

By Hirundo

Traces Of Old York

Drinking Fountain  |  Acomb Green, York UK

Extra: Mixed media (my brass-rubbing skills are as dodgy as...)

"PRESENTED
TO
THE PARISH OF ACOMB
BY
MR & MRS AW COLLINBOURNE
ON THE OCCASION OF THE
KING'S SILVER JUBILEE
6TH. MAY 1935"

The Collinbournes were a fairly well-to-do local family and owned a number of properties (including several cottages and a big service station and garage) across the way from this drinking fountain, which has long since gone the journey. I actually was in the local Scout group with two of their sons (grand-sons?). At the same time as John, my printer, whom I've mentioned before.

I said when I first started this occasional series, that I would be sharing things that even locals probably pass by. J is a born and bred Acomb lass, and couldn't immediately remember noticing this bit of lovely iron-mongery, Even though you have to walk right by it every time you cross the Green...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.