Emsworthy Mire

I read a report that said there were Hawfinches in the many hawthorn trees in Emsworthy Mire which is a Devon Wildlife Trust reserve. I packed a long lens and went in hope but with the thought that if I didn't see any hawfinches, Emsworthy will always deliver a landscape, it is one of my favourite places anyway.

I think that a bit like traffic reports of jams on the radio, by the time I've heard about them they'll have gone. There was no sign and I met a couple who were paying close attention to some Fieldfares and they reckoned that they were seen last week and had now moved on.

The last of the days light was shining on Emsworthy Rocks so I lined up a couple of landscapes as a consolation prize. I'm not good with wildlife anyway but it was worth a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.