Veterans

In 1918 at the 11th hour on the 11th day of the 11th Month, The Great War Ended and today at 11:00 we remember those who had their lives taken in the First world War. My Father who served in Indonesia said a Soldier does not give his life it is taken. Many a young man lost his life and this was devastating on small new  countries like New Zealand who often never fought under their own flag but that of Britain. Taffy who I worked with told me the story his Father told him of a relative who was a boy when he went to the War at the age of 17, he was 14 days from the plough to the grave. I joined the Army at 17 and thought of Excitement and travel, Basic Training was no different than living at home, instead of Mum yelling at me and telling me to clean my room, it was a Corporal so much for the excitement. I have no regrets of my service and enjoyed it, if I had my time over again and know what i know now I would do it all over again but follow my passion as a Medic.

We Will Remember Them. Only Remembered

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.