Never Again

I have always worn a poppy whenever I have been in the UK on this day, I guess the first year was 1962. It was back then a very meaningful day and I remember the wreath laying ceremony accompanied by many veterans of both WWI and WWII.

I do believe we should remember these horrific times. WWII is relatively easy to "justify" but WWI and almost every war before and since have aspects that show the greed and failure of the leaders of nations. The cost has always been borne by the "ordinary" women and men.

So for me today - Armistice Day, Poppy Day or Remembrance Day - or indeed the various such days on different dates around the world, remembers the sacrifice of the victims of all armed conflicts and violent oppression. A sign of solidarity with the surviving dependants and the wounded and maimed service personnel and a warning to us whom have never directly experienced war , of the importance of reconciliation, understanding and peace

The Blip is of a print I bought on 22 May 1992 within walking distance of the "Iron Curtain", another symbol of failure. It had been dismantled in 1990 but was the major issue of that time.

In fact it was because of the fall of the East German Republic that I was there. On 18th March I had been summoned to be in Berlin within a few hours - I was in a hotel shower in Dortmund when the call came.

Long story but I spent the rest of that year in East German Halle and Dessau trying to build two green field BMW dealerships and get temporary showroom and servicing facilities. Infrastructure in all aspects of business and private life was wantonly lacking. I however came to terms with it, particularly as I was working with the local inhabitants, authorities and institutions. One of the things that annoyed the East Germans most back then was the arrogance of the West Germans coming over and simply saying - "Now things will be done our way" and worse still, then using their "superior knowledge" to cheat and trick their way to fortunes.

The Blip print was bought at Bad Sascha just on the "right" side of the border, a triangle between the East German states of Thuringia & Saxony-Anhalt and the West German Lower Saxony. Two Brits wanted to come over for a technical meeting with me on building works - things like road access, oil separators, car lifts and all such wonderful things. They didn't fancy the basic wooden desk and chairs of my office, nor the next door container hotel, nor the almost complete lack of anywhere to wine & dine.

So I was summoned to drive West from Halle and they drove East from Duesseldorf and we held our meeting at the "Romantic Corner Spa and Wellness Resort". In one of the many foyer areas, local artists were holding an exhibition and I ended up buying quite a few prints, all of them with my daughter Kate (12) in mind. They were all of nature - plants and insects. In time she has got the odd one but somehow not this or another large one. Somehow overseen as they haven't been hung for many years. Kate was to have a puppy named Poppy, her favourite dog of all times, taken from her much too early through sickness just ta few years ago.

Kate expressed her Remembrance Day tribute via Facebook early this morning from her Irish home. She didn't mention it in her post but I know she will also shed a tear for her special Poppy. We phoned tonight but in the hectic didn't get to talk about it. I did tell Grandson Elliot (9) that we will talk about Poppy Day and the war when he is over in a few weeks and he can look at his great grandfathers various war medals. I suspect he may return home with at least one. 

(The print is noted as "2/10"; "2nd altered run"; signed by a name I can't work out and the year "92". It was a lady artist, I remember. The map geotag is set on the hotel it was bought in)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.