Border Tails

By Swannie

Places I have worked - 1989

I managed to get myself up and out early this morning and caught the eight o’clock train to Edinburgh.  My sister and I had an appointment with my father at a building society in George street at ten, so I had a leisurely walk from the Waverley Starion.   As I crossed St Andrew Square, I saw this building and I had an idea, I would blip an occasional series of photographs of where I used to work.  Back in 1989, I worked here, which at the time, was a branch of the Bank of Scotland, before our whole department was moved out to South Gyle.

The picture in the extras is of the Melville Monument in the middle of the square.  It was built in 1823 to honour Henry Dundas, 1st Viscount Melville.  He was a Scottish advocate and Tory politician and in 1806 became the last person to be impeached in the UK, for misappropriation of public money.  Although acquitted, he never held public office again.  A Tories and corruption?  Some things never change! (alledgedly)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.