Pipes of Peace.

I got up earlier than usual, for a Sunday, and did my bit in the gym. Just as I was about to leave, Des turned up, and he was so disappointed I was leaving. I did tell him on Thursday that I was going to the Remembrance Service at the Cenotaph, but he's as deaf as a post, in spite of wearing a hearing aid. I went to the changing rooms, and changed into warmer clothes, and off I went. As soon as I stepped outside, the heavens opened. I took the photo of the firemen at the start, and as I walked past them, one of them asked me if I'd mind taking their photo on his phone. Would I mind? absolutely not:-)  I took three, and asked him to check if they were alright, and thankfully. they were. When the piped band started to play, the sound of the pipes made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. Such an amazing sound. It was raining even heavier by this time, and by the time I got to the Cenotaph, I was very wet indeed. Thank goodness my coat was waterproof, but my hands were freezing, and my camera was rather wet as well.  I stayed for the two  minutes silence, and then phoned J to come & pick me up. You really must see my extra photos.
            We will remember them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.