Breakfast in the kowhai tree

Woke up to a wonderful sunrise over Kawau, with similar colours to those seen on Friday. Took a quick couple of pictures from the cliff edge corner of the property before setting out on a run.

Early in my run I heard the unmistakable sound of a tui in flight, passing low across the top of my head as it crossed from wherever into a kowhai tree on the other side of the road. It then proceeded to hop right through to the other side of the tree and feed on the nectar in the kowhai flowers.

It having (deliberately, I thought) gained my attention, it was only proper for me to try and get a good picture of it, even though I had the auto focussing compact. Despite hanging about (me) for some minutes, tui stayed firmly on the far side of the tree, and every shot has the focus in front of it.

I have adjusted the original picture a little. Firstly I cropped it a little, so as to raise the size of the tui. Then, I adjusted the exposure and decreased the shadows, to make the light in this photo more like that in the others that I took. (I'm unsure why this one was so dark)

In large it is easier to see the tuft of white feathers under its neck; the "collar" that led to early British immigrants knowing it as the Parson Bird.

More reading today, although I confess to having a bit of an eye on the replay this afternoon of last night's game between NZ and South Africa. The referee did not have a good game and both sides looked bemused at times by his decisions. Probably didn't influence the outcome, which was a resounding win for NZ, and confirmation of this team's ability to score points.

Additional Comment:
I have just discovered that my meeting in Wellington is not on Tuesday/Wednesday this week; it was postponed one week. And I neglected to change my diary. So I'm ahead in my reading (good), can feel less stressed by how much more there is still read (good), I could have watched the rugby with full attention (bother), and I could have done some pleasurable things this weekend instead of sitting inside all the time (double bother). Will now enjoy a glass of Hawks Nest Back Paddock, and relax (Very Good).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.