GC Riders!

Variants of wow were uttered throughout the day, multiple times an hour. And we were out for hours!

Rich was incredulous when I told him we'd only done 11 miles in what seemed like an eon of cycling uphill. However, the impressiveness of the scenery takes you completely away from the constant pedalling.

Apart from the pristine tarmac weaving through, it felt like we were transporting ourselves through prehistoric times with volcanic towers, spires and edges scattered around and towering above. It feels wild, there is little traffic and even fewer cyclists.

Plan A was heading up to San Bartolomé, across to Agüimes and back along all the roads recommended by our tour agent. Plan B would leave out Agüimes and head straight down. But that's not what I wanted to do, particularly given the effort involved in getting up there. If my hip really starts to play up, I was intent on making the most of Birthday Eve ride.

Thankfully, with just a little twinge on a slightly steeper section, all was well and we've enjoyed the most spectacular vistas, pretty much to ourselves.

The little towns are idyllic and we found three very different but delightful places to stop, drink and eat.

Unbelievably, we even managed to get the averages back over 10mph before we got back!

My bike isn't a perfect set up for my frame and it does make me wish I'd got my own bike. I've got a few knotting muscles but am hopeful of eking out a little more cycling if I take it easy tomorrow.

We've devoured a carb-fest on the sea front and are expecting another 10 hour sleep tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.