Not every day

By ppatrick

Rock solid

In Bamberg for two days for a symposium, I came across this chap patiently and methodically laying fresh setts (not cobbles) in one of the central streets. This is one of the more modern parts of the city, dating I guess from the c18 Enlightenment when both Hegel and Hoffmann lived there. It owes its World Heritage status more to the substantial and well preserved medieval quarter (see extras).
Everyone was friendly, kind and welcoming, but I still have a slight feeling of discomfort when visiting these very German parts of southern Germany. The architecture, the lettering, the terrain and even the leather trousers have so many associations for me, I guess from growing up in the immediate post-war years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.