I Can See The Power Station

When we were little we used to go up to Nottingham quite a lot to see my Nan and Grandpa. The sign that the journey was nearly over was the power station where we got off the M1.
There was always a competition to see it first. Being the competitive little thing that I was I used to start craning my neck at about Leicester to make sure I didn't miss it. Back in the days before seatbelts and booster seats I could practically sit on top of the gear stick to maximise my advantage over my brother!
As soon as it appeared - and to this day I know the exact stretch of the motorway where you crest a bit of a hill and it is revealed on the horizon - you'd have to screech as fast and as loudly as possible "Icanseethepowerstation"
I'm ashamed to say that the competitive child in me still exists and when the power station appeared this morning I bellowed that I could see it, whooped a bit, pumped my fists and gloated that I'd won.
The fact that I hadn't told anyone else they were playing was neither here nor there.....
Hee hee!!!!!
We had a lovely time up in Nottingham with my brother, sister in law and Cousins M and T. (The Little Misses have a very funny habit of referring to Baby T as Cousin T and they make it sound like they're all Hillbillies!!)
We met for a lunch in one of my favourite cafes - The Hard to Find Cafe on the Mansfield Road for anyone that knows Nottingham - and then went to Goose Fair.
It was always a massive event for us in our childhood and it was fab to take our own children.
It was amazing. Huge. And busy and noisy and smelly!
The Little Misses went on various helter skelters, up-and-down-and-round-and-round rides, bouncy slides and merry-go-rounds; they hooked ducks; they ate donuts, mushy peas, candy floss, and flying saucers; and they watched as Mr B, Cousin M and I spent the longest - and for me and Mr B - the most unpleasant hour eight or nine minutes on the waltzers. Oh my God!! It was fun at first and I was screaming and laughing with pleasure. Then it got faster and faster and just kept on and on and on and on and on...... and on and on going.
It was a wonder we didn't see any of the mushy peas, donuts or candyfloss again!!!!
Mr B was reminiscing about how we used to go on the waltzers again and again. Couldn't get enough.
We're getting old!
And then it was to John Lewis for tea and cake and a nice sit down.
What a great day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.