Jelly Fotos

By JellyB

Christmas starts here.....

First of the Christmas goodies!
Three years of diabetes has given me a whole new perspective on the Christmas goodies. The first year was stress all the way. I hardly touched a chocolate and frowned upon anybody who did in my prescence. Diabetes gradually became part of my life and my my food choices gradually became easier too. It's still nice to be offered something but now I can make a decision whether to accept or decline.

At the weekend a comment was left on my Facebook page - Type 1 is indeed serious, Type 2 is a lifestyle choice. Everybody is entitled to their opinion but I didn't find this either helpful or supportive, in fact I found it very disappointing. 

Well, my 'Lifestyle Choice' is to accept the fact that I have diabetes and work hard to try and keep it under control for as long as I possibly can. Three years in and still no medication means I must be doing something right.

Having Diabetes is like owning a Tiger - look after it well, feed it the right food and, if you are lucky, it might not kill you :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.