One click at a time

By KeithKnight

Kolkata - Day 2

The second full day in Kolkata and we headed off early (06:30) to the vegetable market.

A fine (if sometimes challenging due to the crowds) time was had by all and having finished at the vegetable market we headed to the railway station.

At the railway station I watched a train leave and took some shots of the train leaving, with a slow shutter speed so that the motion of the train caused the train to be be blurred. As I was leaving the platform I was summoned by two gentlemen in uniform with guns over their shoulders and asked a few questions - where was I from, where was I staying, where was I travelling to. I was asked for ID, not wanting to use my business card (as that would make me look like a professional), they eventually accepted my FIAP photographers card, and then told me that I was not to take photos of moving trains.

I headed to the opposite end of the station through the crowds and carried on, but as no more trains arrived or left, I had no opportunity to take any more moving trains.

After some brunch at the hotel, we had a wander around nearby streets, they were fairly quiet and we gathered again in a coffee shop, which was very westernised with western prices (almost, anyway).

More pictures in extras and even more in facebook.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.