Guess Who?

In a big hatbox of Johanna's there is a ton of old photographs. Amongst them are some from when Marlanes' parents came for a holiday to Riyadh, where we were living as I was with the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia Ministry of Foreign Affairs at the time. 
Saudi didn't, and doesn't. have a tourist industry and it's very difficult to get a visa. The fact that I was the ONLY European working in the ministry meant that every one of the 1,000 or so employees knew me and what I did.
I asked the Ambassador of the Consular Section if my in-laws could come for a visit and he told me to tell them to pick up their visas in London when they are leaving the UK. All went very smooth and they were with us for a month.

And who is in the photograph? It's Julia in January 1988 so she is 16 months old. It was taken in the old city of Diriyah, which is on the outskirts of Riyadh (The capital of Saudi Arabia).
Info about Diriyah is here - https://scth.gov.sa/en/Antiquities-Museums/InternationallyRegisteredSites/Pages/Historical-diriya.aspx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.