*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

One for the fans of old Sheffield carols

This is in a handwritten book which belonged to my Great Great Great Grandfather, John Bingham (born circa 1795). He was a cellist. I googled the composer, not expecting to find anything and found this:

Richard Furness - The Poet of Eyam

I presume, like a lot of the local carols, it was sung with the "normal" lyrics for Angels from the realms of glory ("Iris") but I've never come across a different version of it before.

I have the full handwritten version including all the symphonies (the "little twiddly bits" as I like to call them!) which are often included in the local carols. 

I've posted this on Flickr and hoping it might be of interest to someone and it'd be nice if anyone had further information. The old carols seem to more popular now than they've ever been, and a possible "new find" is quite exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.