Tea and Toast

Tonight was our Tea and Toast fund raiser for PoppyScotland. An amazing turnout with 68 people present including the Brownies and Leaders.We raised nearly £100 which is amazing.
The girls were brilliant at looking after ‘their’ table.Lots of coffee and tea were drunk so much so that the urn ran out of water. The smoke alarms did nt go off as no one burnt the toast ;)
The photo shows my Nans old teapot. A very old brown enamel one that has seen a whole range of events from weddings to christenings, family gatherings and parties.I’m pretty sure it would have made an appearance during the war years too.
To finish the evening some of the girls read out a few Remembrance poems.I was planning on putting a story about war time memories on each table but ran out of time.I’ll have to remember for next year.I have some wartime letters that my Great Auntie Vera and Great Uncle George exchanged during his time in the RAF, WW2, which make interesting reading so I might copy a few of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.