Do you see me?

I took a photo of an unusual red flower with a white bloom on it, but I accidentally got so much more. Since it is Tiny Tuesday it seems perfect with the tiny grasshopper, mosquito and teeny ants. So, "I" is for insect!

Today was a 12 hour day on a drive on the Hana Hwy; the road is slow with lots of switch backs and curves. However, the time spent stopping for all the beautiful sights took up about 1/2 the time. The waterfalls were running full and there were many beautiful ones to see. The ocean and mountain views were spectacular and the roadside bar-b-q was yummy. The lava tube we explored was so fascinating; it was about 30 feet tall and went on for miles. We had a wonderful time taking the full route to Hana and continuing around the volcano back to where we started;  the back part of the loop is about 10 miles of dirt one lane road; cars coming one or the other way have to pulling as far off the road as possible.....sometimes there is a small pullout that comes at just the right time....sometimes not, and someone has to back up until they find a safe place to pass. As the driver, I don't think I was as scared as my passengers.  :-))  We did have one unnerving moment when a Tour bus forced us off the road in order to pass. Good thing we had a 4 wheel drive jeep.....and it had been scraped on the sides often......the rock wall was softened by the tall grass so it was kind of okay. It was an exhausting and exciting day.....but not a trip I will take again anytime soon. 

Thanks for coming with me to Hawaii......I will be back in my Happy Place tomorrow morning!
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.