tranquility

Not a cloud in the sky at dawn, but 0°c.

Plan A had been a hike up West Lomond this morning. The other supposed participants all cancelled yesterday.

Plan B was a 2 hour cycle. When I saw the frost I thought of frozen puddles, and B after she fell of her bike due to ice a couple of years ago. Pain doesn't faze me much, but the NHS does. So, cancel plan B.

Plan C was West Lomond on my own.

2 hours walking. Time to think quite a lot. Plenty of thoughts of my only previous hike up the hill, 11 months ago when in training for Kilimanjaro. Then lots of Kilimanjaro thoughts.

Did I really trek for 6 consecutive days? Did I really camp out for 6 nights? Did I really trek for 17 hours out of 24 on the penultimate day? Did I really get up at 5.30 the next morning and hike 21 km in 6 hours? Have I really gone up over 19,000 ft?

I guess so.

Kilimanjaro

The Blip. Lots to choose from. But I like this one best. The woman on the summit was about 200m ahead of me all the way up. At the summit I said hello, but apart from that left her to enjoy the tranquility.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.