Black Pillow

Andrius Bucas & Valdas Ozarinskas

City States at Copperas Hill - Vilnius

Liverpool Biennial 2012

Last night's sound installation was very weird and not in a particularly good way. They were running late and the beer was over-priced. The first act reminded me of PiL's Religion which then made me annoyed because PiL do it just fine, thank you. Or, am I just showing my age? Anyway, I didn't get it so I came home and went to the Chinese for Chicken Foo Yung.

This is a piece that's grown on me. The creators aren't artists; they are architects. But they were commissioned to create a piece for a show in Vilnius in 2010, so they just filled their given space with a black pillow. And that was that. Others then set about interpreting it for them, thinking that the black colour was menacing or threatening. It took on a symbolism that wasn't really there. This is v2.0 - a new pillow constructed to fit the available space in Copperas Hill. At first I thought "Oh, it's just a big pillow", which, of course, is precisely what it is. And that's quite cool in itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.