a small world

I often see this trolley around Milton Keynes.  Sometimes I see the person who pushes it.  He  walks miles, wandering from one end to the other (no mean feat in a large city designed for the car).  This morning it was parked near a large supermarket, at our end of MK. 

I don’t really like taking this sort of photograph.  I feel uncomfortable - that I’m exploiting someone else’s world to make a point  - or a blip.

But I saw a news item about a young woman who had 250 pairs of diamond encrusted espadrilles.  With a spacious wardrobe just to keep them all in.  And it made me think.  Not just about how this trolley contains someone’s entire world, but about my Mum too.

She died a long time ago.  She spent her last 6 months in a care home - she had dementia and needed a lot of help.  When I went to collect her belongings, I was handed a small red suitcase containing a couple of bits of jewellery, a photo album and some letters from my Dad when he was in Burma during the war.  And that was about it - all her worldly possessions in something that would fit under an aircraft seat.

Of course, the sum of her life was much more than that - just as there must be more (I hope) to the life of the person who pushes this trolly.  And of far greater value than 250 pairs of diamond encrusted espadrilles. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.