through His eyes.

By throughHiseyes

Whenever I see my bump pictures, I still cannot believe that I went through those 9 months and that he grew in there. That my body was able to go through all those changes and pop that little human out. The battle scars from those 9 months remain on my body, and they humble me.

Being a mom has taught me many things. Even though it's only been three short months of it, it has already felt like a year or more. Raising a child has never asked more patience out of me, along with kindness, humbleness, and courage. Yes, even courage.




We got rear ended a couple of days ago pretty badly. It was my very first car accident and unfortunately, Arturo was with me. I never thought this side of me was going to come out, but how angrily and loudly did I yell at the other driver. I grabbed him and his piercing cries made me even more angry. To experience this trauma at such a young age when I all want is for him to grow up happy and safe.

But that accident gave me a strong reminder that that is impossible. That the courage I need in order to be a good mom is not how I will fight for him; rather, it is to be brave and strong in the belief that even though he will have to face this broken world by himself some day, he will be okay. That as I have had to face this world, I was not alone and he will not be as well.



We fortunately both came out okay. The event took a toll on Victor and I emotionally and physically, as we had to observe Arturo for any behavioral changes and he almost did. But he is okay.



This little human has taught me so much since the day he was conceived. And I still have so much more to learn.


So much more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.