Memory Lane

Arrived in York after a morning on trains, and by 13.30 was strolling down memory lane as for the next several hours I walked around this historic town, starting with going back to college in Lord Mayor's Walk where I was, once upon a time, an undergraduate, and from where I will, once again, graduate tomorrow.  Staring at the lovely C19th buildings of St John's College, I fell in to conversation with a couple who graduated just a couple of years before me, and were also, walking down memory lane.  Now suitably suited in nostalgia, I headed on to the Minster, and then through the streets and old familiar haunts, ending up at the Old Starre Inn in Stonegate for a couple of pints, now soaked in sights and sounds that I once was so familiar with. 

I'd forgotten how cold it is here and walking back to my B&B  was so bone-chilled that I bought a hot water bottle from an open late chemist!  The rest of the evening was spent in my room cuddling said hot water bottle whilst reminiscing - after all, this B&B deliberately chosen for this brief stay because it is the house where I lived as an undergraduate, when I rented the downstairs front room as a bedsit, and where I will have breakfast tomorrow morning, before "the big event".  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.