Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

David

David has lived on the streets of New Orleans for a year.  Following a major car accident that took the life of his mother, and disabled David, he could no longer work.  He lost the apartment he had shared with his mother and now calls the street his home.  "I'm on the short list for housing at a local shelter, but don't know if it will come through," he told me.  The hardest part about living on the streets for David?  He told me it's all hard - the rats at night, the cold, the harsh glances from people walking by.  "It all hurts me," he said.  "It's not me, but here I am anyway." 

Here I am anyway.  To connect with David didn't take much on my part and I could tell he was grateful for the chance to talk.  For all of the folks like David out there - I need to do more connecting. Here I am, after all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.