Talk on Abbott's Science Photos

This afternoon we attended a gallery talk on an exhibition titled "Beautiful Physics" at the Mount Holyoke College Art Museum. Speaking was Spencer Smith, a professor of physics at the college, who had curated the show. It included a dozen photographs by Berenice Abbott showing physics experiments. She took them ca.1956-58 for an innovative high school physics course designed by a committee at MIT*; I took the very first rendition of that course in 1957-58 at Browne & Nichols school in Cambridge, Mass. (just up the Charles River from MIT). Spencer's talk was excellent; in the Q&A afterwards I talked about my experience in the course. Altogether a very special event for me. 

* MIT = Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where my father taught from 1930 to 1960.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.