Ladybird of Another Colour

There are a lot of two-spotted ladybirds on the Angelica flowers, many in pairs. But this one was out on its own with its aberrant colour scheme. Normally they are orangey-red, with two black spots.

It was heavily overcast today, making ideal gardening conditions. I was ripping out the grass that comes up through bushes when I came to an area where apple mint has invaded. Out it comes, I thought, and was about to grasp the first one when I noticed a tiny praying mantis nymph standing boldly on top! Then I saw another, and another, four in total, all within a metre. I have no idea where they came from, but they all looked determined. Looks like I will have to put up with the apple mint for some time to come.

Poppy taken at 6am in extra shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.