A New Day

By ANewDay

Setting the Heather on Fire

This phrase has two meanings - the literal one shown here when the farmers burn the old heather to encourage new growth and a more recent one of causing a bit of excitement.

It was my husband's birthday today and for his bit of excitement on this beautiful sunny day, he wanted to be chauffeured around the Perthshire countryside and treated like a lord for the day!

We started with a drive to Crieff, where the pipe band were playing in the town centre (by special request of course:)) and we enjoyed a lovely lunch. Then it was on through the Sma' Glen, looking its absolute best in the sun, to Amulree, where we made an unplanned detour through Glen Quaich to Loch Freuchie and watched the farmers set fire to the heather, as seen on the left of this photo.

We followed the tourist road to Aberfeldy, where we had a quick walk around the lovely Birks o' Aberfeldy (beloved of Burns), followed by the most gi-normous fresh cream meringue in a local cafe.

I took so many photos that it was hard to choose a blip for today and I really wanted to use the one of my husband tucking in to his meringue, but he said he would be too embarrassed, so I didn't! (Don't tell him, but I'll put it in my blipfolio instead!)

Even he admitted it was worth being another year older for such a super day out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.