Breakey Blips

By ElizabethB

Women of a certain age

On a whim, I decided to go to the opening night of the national festival of non-fiction that is taking place on Geelong this weekend.
The headliner for the opening event was the author Peter Carey.
The blurb said that he would explore the world between fiction and non-fiction, and it sounded interesting. Of course, of course he was there to spruik his latest book. He was asked about the difference when writing in the two genres, his response was amusing if a bit frustrating for the interviewer.
"Non-fiction? I don't write non-fiction, hey, I don't even lie straight in bed!"
And that was that.

My photo reflects the snake of fans requesting that he signs his latest offering. I decided to refrain.

I was, however, struck by the mass of the crowd being women of a certain age - my age or older! I didn't look out of place, but I don't know if I was ready for that realisation!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.