Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Diamondback Terrapin

I literally only took two photos today - both of this terrapin. Neither entirely in focus, I might add. I was at The Wildlife Center all morning and then stayed to attend a two hour class about rehabbing small mammals and songbirds - because in order to get re-certified as a Category 4 rehabber (ie. allowed to volunteer at The Wildlife Center) by the end of the year, I need 6 hours of education. It's ridiculous, because as volunteers we aren't doing anything that isn't monitored by actual veterinarians - but the Virginia Department of Game & Inland Fisheries makes the rules (new rules) about it and we have to comply. You may remember I had to get rabies vaccinated last Spring... Anyway - this terrapin is not a native of our part of Virginia (it lives in very coastal regions), but was someone's pet. I'm not sure why we have it at the center now, but it was being held by Katie when I walked in, so I took its picture. Very attractive! You can read about them here. They are very often sold as pets, so this one may well have been purchased rather than kidnapped. In any case, it can't be a wild creature. I guess it will find a home at a zoo somewhere. Unless The Wildlife Center decides to keep it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.