Hold Fast

Looking north to Dunbar from Fast Castle, Berwickshire. I cycled down on this lovely afternoon and what a wonderful time I had. The ride was great, including the murderous climb out of Pease Bay onto Coldingham Common, and the still clear day stayed still and clear right to sunset.

Bigger and Faster.

If you look closely you'll see a little swarm of flies in the middle of the photo which for some reason I thought would look good. Hmm. There was also a fair population of spiders on the castle, obvious why they're there but how tough are they! This peninsula must be absolutely wild when the wind and rain get going.

Wikipedia has some history of the castle which is bloody and vicious - and guess what Mary Queen of Scots stayed there. Is there a castle where she didn't stay!?

There are some great aerial photographs of the site on The RCAHMS site which illustrate how precarious its position is.

I found that taking a decent photograph of the castle is pretty difficult, you are tempted to get very close to the edge of sheer cliffs to get "that" angle and I scared myself a bit. So, this will have to do!

Day of the year for me weather-wise I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.