SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Tweed Valley Ultra

I like to be modest, but after running for almost 40 years I won my first individual "trophy" today [see extra]. I was second in the 50km Tweed Valley Ultra trail race - and first super-vet! That said, I was 50 minutes behind the winner, and better runners would be in the 65km race. And, yes, there were more than two competitors in the 50km race! Starting in the freezing cold at 08:00, the first 30km were wonderful: beautiful weather and scenery, and I was running well. The last 20km, particularly the last 5km, were not fun.

Of course running isn't about winning and trophies, or even times, it's about doing something which makes you feel good, and getting myself fitter this year than I have been for years has definitely contributed a lot to my feeling of well-being.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.