Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Morebattle Kirk

There was an exhibition by local Crafters in Kelso this weekend - professionals, not dabblers like me - and I thought I'd go along and admire their work and maybe buy a some bits and pieces for the forthcoming festive season. 

I went by the back roads, and I saw more of them than I'd intended. I eventually got to the village of Morebattle, which was good because I knew where I was then, and hopped out to take some pictures.

It's a lovely place, tucked into a fold of the foothills of the Cheviots.  The houses on the main street mostly look as if they've been there for centuries and I can easily imagine that they were originally thatched.  The name sounds a bit warlike, but apparently means 'the place by the lake'. (Lake rather than loch, it being an Anglian settlement.) The lake/loch was drained and turned into farmland.

I got to Kelso and the show, but failed to find anything to buy. There's plenty of time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.