Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Loch Fyne from Minard

Heading down to Ardrishaig this afternoon I packed my camera rucksack , prepared for all possibilities, wide angle lens as the sky was looking good for a decent landscape / sunset, 60mm fixed lens for possible portraits at the Slainte bar in Ardrishaig and zoom lens just in case we saw any wildlife on the way through. Also the new compact to give me more practice using it. Would any one be surprised if I owned up to forgetting one major item. Yep , the DSLR was still at home. never mind it meant I would have to work at using the new compact.

How come a simple multifunction compact gives me more difficulty than using my DSLR on manual ? I still prefer using an eye piece as opposed to the LCD screen to frame my images, but definitely getting more used to it.

On the way through Minard , the village next to us, I was impressed by the light on the water, so the car was duly parked and out I went , one click and off on the road again.
With the big camera I would have tried various f stopsand focal points and footered around get the best shot.

I reckon this isn't too bad for what is basically a point and shoot with a range of settings as well as a really good Smart option and a super automatic function.

I did get quite a few shots of the band who were playing in the Slainte bar , not as good as I would have liked but getting there. So here's hoping by the time we get to party in Cardiff and Brussels I will have sorted this new toy out and get lots of record shots of our trip.( Having had problems taking the big camera into clubs etc in the past I'm hoping the new toy will be enough for those places to build up John's photobook of his Tartan Atmy trips.
Off course the big camera and tripod will come with me for all the other shots I hope to get, especially during our trip to the Dordogne in the South of France in between the Cardiff and brussels games. Only 4 sleeps till we head off.

ps; meant to say theat this band will be on again in two weeks time ( accordions, guitat , banjo drums , bodhran andus on a range of percussion instruments which the band brought along for audience participation. Great fun and good bar food as well. I had a really delicious smoked salmon sandwich salad, the name does not do justice to the wonderful plate of food with a wide range of salad veg and fruit filling the plate. definitely recommend this place, lovely homebaking as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.